Violet Made Of Thorns

By Gina Chen

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Summary:

A darkly enchanting fantasy debut about a morally gray witch, a cursed prince, and a prophecy that ignites their fate-twisted destinies—perfect for fans of The Cruel Prince and Serpent & Dove.

Violet is a prophet and a liar, influencing the royal court with her cleverly phrased—and not always true—divinations. Honesty is for suckers, like the oh-so-not charming Prince Cyrus, who plans to strip Violet of her official role once he’s crowned at the end of the summer—unless Violet does something about it.

But when the king asks her to falsely prophesy Cyrus’s love story for an upcoming ball, Violet awakens a dreaded curse, one that will end in either damnation or salvation for the kingdom—all depending on the prince’s choice of future bride. Violet faces her own choice: Seize an opportunity to gain control of her own destiny, no matter the cost, or give in to the ill-fated attraction that’s growing between her and Cyrus.

Violet’s wits may protect her in the cutthroat court, but they can’t change her fate. And as the boundary between hatred and love grows ever thinner with the prince, Violet must untangle a wicked web of deceit in order to save herself and the kingdom—or doom them all. 

Review:

Seriously, this book was everything I wanted in a YA. Enemies to lovers, morally grey heroine, a reluctant prince who does not fall immediately. The back and forth banter was witty, sarcastic, and sometimes downright mean. I was there for it. The tension was so thick between these two it was as if you could reach out and actually touch it. This story came to life around me so vividly that I could smell the rot infecting her tower, and see a flame flickering into something better than it was… this book was absolutely spellbinding. So caught up in it I was that I ended up finishing it in one sitting and was up long into the night.

Honestly, I did not know what to expect, but I was so pleasantly surprised by this book. I am so glad this is not a stand alone because I need all the books by this author.

Meet The Author:

Gina Chen spent most of her life thinking she hated writing, until she churned out a few hundred thousand words of fanfiction and decided that maybe she was a writer. Her stories lean toward the fantastic, featuring heroines, antiheroines, and the kind of cleverness that brings trouble in its wake.

A self-taught artist with a degree in computer science, she generates creative nonsense in all forms of media and always has a project stewing. She has particular fondness for fairy tales, demon tales, romantic comedies, and quiz shows. Currently, she resides in Southern California, where the sunshine is as plentiful as its tea shops.

Purchase Links:

https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/violet-made-of-thorns-gina-chen/1140425582;jsessionid=6B697631801ED8E3E078F46A0C0E49A8.prodny_store01-atgap13?ean=9780593427538

https://www.indiebound.org/search/book?keys=Violet+Made+of+Thorns

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: