Design a site like this with
Get started

Blackbird Rising

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Welcome to the mini tour for this stunning new fantasy novel by Jane Wiseman, Blackbird Rising!

BBR ebook

Blackbird Rising (Harbingers 1)

Publication Date: December 2018

Genre: Epic Fantasy/ Mature YA Fantasy/ Coming-of-Age

Minstrel? Spy? Witch? What is Mirin, really?

She’s a young girl. She’s a boy. She loves her sister. She loves a man.

More important, who is she?

The gods have given her a task, to save a realm, to save a queen.

In a brutal world where the young are forced to grow up fast, Mirin’s story is about coming of age too soon, about love and betrayal. It’s about the heavy costs of standing for a cause but standing for it anyway because it is the right. About finding the lost and finding yourself along the way.

Add to Goodreads


Available on Amazon


I was sucked in from the very beginning. After watching her family be murdered, Mirin escapes and is left to fend for herself. She is taken in by a kind woman who is not all she seems. Thrust into a group of rebels she is told she is special due to her abilities with her voice and talent on her rebec. She finds out that everything she knew as a child might be a lie, and her younger sister may still be alive. The journey to saving her sister quickly escalates to her being the key to overthrowing the crown.

I have many different feelings towards this book. It was an adventurous tale that kept me reading late into the night. I kept hoping for more about the magic and the blackbirds. I need to know more! Luckily, this is a series, so I know there will be more. The characters were well developed, which made it all the more heartbreaking when we lost one. This book holds nothing back .. be prepared to have your heart broken over and over. While I still have lots of questions, I can’t wait for book 2 in the series to find out what happens next.

About the Author


Jane Wiseman is a writer who splits her time between urban Minneapolis and the Sandia Mountains of New Mexico. Her interlocking fantasy series include HARBINGERS (I Blackbird Rising, II Halcyon, III Firebird, IV Ghost Bird), the prequel series STORMCLOUDS (I A Gyrfalcon for a King, II The Call of the Shrike, III Stormbird), the eerie BETWIXT & BETWEEN duology set in the Stormclouds/ Harbingers world (I The Martlet is a Wanderer, II The Nightingale Holds Up the Sky). A tenth book, Dark Ones Take It, is a stand-alone novel about the origins of the series villain. The Harbingers series has a YA-into-NA feel. The other books are many shades darker.

Mini Tour Organized By:

R&R Button

R&R Book Tours


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: