Shadow of Light by Molly E. Lee

Rating: 5 out of 5.

Synopsis:

Perfect for fans of Brigid Kemmerer and Tracy Wolff, the second novel in Molly E. Lee’s angels-and-demons YA series will keep readers turning pages until the very end.

Hell is no trip to Disneyland, but even Harley isn’t prepared for what she meets in each new circle.

With Draven’s twin brother at her side, she takes each new horror face on. Fear isn’t new to her, but the things that slither in this darkness may just ruin her in the end.

The clock is ticking as they try to locate the ancient artifact that will strengthen her powers and help her vanquish the Twelve Greater Demons now wreaking havoc on the world above. The ones she let free in order to save Draven’s life. Now he’s somewhere in this Hell, and if she doesn’t find him or the artifact, she’ll have succeeded in being the best Antichrist ever—and the world will pay for her choices.

With each new obstacle, she and Raiden grow closer, her soul torn in two as they search for his brother.

Each step gained feels like two steps back in this hell-hole, but the deeper they go, the more she feels her powers grow. The world above is at stake, but down here? Nothing is as it seems.

With Raiden at her side, Draven in her heart, and an artifact that will decide her fate, Harley will have to face every dark piece of her soul in order to get them all out of there alive.

Review:

Molly E. Lee is a storytelling master. I was just as sucked into this sequel as fast as I was with the first book. Maybe even more so. Harley and Draven are taken on a crazy journey to try and save Ray from the connection Marid has with her. All the odds seem against them as they struggle through setback after setback. The characters they meet and who join their group along this journey are an unlikely group of friends. Each character introduced has a unique purpose, and has an integral part of the plot. There were definitely no “throw away characters”. Every new twist or revelation sideswiped me leaving me gasping and reading late into the night because I had such a hard time walking away from this story. A lot of times sequels get lost in the whole 2nd book syndrome… where they are mostly fluff and filler with a little bit of storyline to get to the big conclusion. This was not the case. I loved every minute of it.

The journey through Hell (or really the Ather) was definitely an interesting part of this story. Molly’s descriptions of each new level was so well done that unfortunately each new horror was brought to life around me. Do not even get me started on Marid and his snakes :shudder:: … and also sand ants…. absolutely terrifying. Ranier was a surprising twist for me.. (You will have to read it to find out ).

It was an exciting ride filled with many twist and turns, and spicy moments. I absolutely loved it. However, the ending!!!!!!!!!!! Talk about cliff hanger endings that beat all cliff hanger endings…. I might be quite angry about it. I do not even know how I am going to wait to find out the meaning of those last few sentences. I was dumbfounded, shocked into silence, yet also screaming internally. Molly, you are an evil genius.

Molly E. Lee is an author best known for her romance novels, the Grad Night series and the Love on the Edge series. Molly writes Adult and Young Adult contemporary featuring strong female heroines who are unafraid to challenge their male counterparts, yet still vulnerable enough to have love sneak up on them. In addition to being a military spouse and mother of two + one stubborn English Bulldog, Molly loves watching storms from her back porch at her Midwest home, and digging for treasures in antique stores.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: